David Burke

David Burke



David Burke is currently Professor of Neurology at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital and Sydney Medical School, University of Sydney. Previously he has held a personal Chair of Clinical Neurophysiology (awarded 1987) and a Chair of Neurology (from 1991) at the University of New South Wales. In 1991, he became Chairman of the Department of Neurology, The Prince Henry and Prince of Wales Hospitals, and from 1997–2002 he was Director of Neurosciences in the hospital group. He led one of two research teams around which the Prince of Wales Medical Research Institute [now renamed Neuroscience Research Australia, “NeuRA”] was formed, and became its Director of Clinical Research in 1991. In 2002 he joined The University of Sydney as Dean of Research for the former College of Health Sciences and served intermittently as Acting Pro-Vice Chancellor.  He was Interim Executive Director of the Centenary Institute of Cancer Medicine & Cell Biology, October 2005-December 2006. From 2008 to 2013, he held the Bushell Chair of Neurology at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital and the Central Clinical School, University of Sydney, and was Associate Dean [Research], Sydney Medical School.

A graduate in medicine from the University of Sydney (MB,BS 1967), he was awarded MD (by research, in 1972) and DSc (1983) by the University of New South Wales. He is a fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians (from 1975). In 1995, he was elected Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science (FAA) and also Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (FTSE). In 1999 he was appointed Officer in the Order of Australia (AO).

David Burke was President of the Australian & New Zealand Association of Neurologists 2005–2007, is a member of the Executive Committee of the International Federation of Clinical Neurophysiology, and has served on committees of the World Federation of Neurology and the Royal Australasian College of Physicians. He was Editor-in-Chief of Clinical Neurophysiology 2008–2015, and is on the Executive Board of the journal. He is currently inaugural Editor-in-Chief of the new companion journal Clinical Neurophysiology Practice.